President appoints new ERC, TSC commissioners

January 12, 2020 | By admin | Filed in: nexmcumgj.

first_imgHaving received much criticism over the delay in appointing constitutional bodies, the Government has finally moved to appoint members to form the Ethnic Relations Commission (ERC) and the Teaching Service Commission (TSC).Commissioners for both bodies took the oath of office before President DavidNewly appointed ERC Commissioners with President David GrangerGranger at State House, and their appointments have become effective from Thursday.Members appointed to serve on the Ethnic Relations Commission are: Barrington Braithwaite, Ruth Howard, Roshan Khan, Major General (retd) Norman McLean, Pandit Deodat Sharma, Ashton Simon, Rajkumarie Singh, Bishop John Smith, Neaz Subhan and Norris Witter.Chairman of Parliament’s Appointments Committee, Dr. George Norton, told the media that the delay in appointing members to serve on the ERC was to avoid a situation where its members were political.Under Article 212 of the Constitution, the ERC advocates equality of opportunity among persons of different ethnic groups; promotes the elimination of all forms of ethnic-based discrimination; and discourages persons, institutions, political parties and associations from indulging in discriminatory practices.The ERC is also required to recommend to the National Assembly criteria to be considered for the purposes of deciding whether any person has committed acts ofNewly appointed TSC Commissioners with President David Grangerdiscrimination on the ground of ethnicity; investigate complaints of racial discrimination, and make recommendations on the measures to be taken if such complaints are valid; and where there is justification, refer matters to the Human Rights Commission or other relevant authorities.The ERC was derived from recommendations of the Herdmanston Accord, signed on January 17, 1998 between then President Janet Jagan and Opposition Leader Desmond Hoyte. Brokered by a Caricom mission, the Accord sought to provide a peaceful solution to the political impasse that had gripped the country after the contentious December 1997 Regional and General Elections.The first ERC was established in 2002 and expired in 2006.President Granger has urged the ERC Commissioners to “discharge their duties without cowardice, without malice, and without prejudice”.Persons appointed to serve on the Teaching Service Commission are: Chief Education Officer Marcel Hutson (ex-officio), Avril Crawford, Alan Munroe, Elizabeth Ramlall, Amjad Ali Shaw, Debra Thomas, and Barbara Thomas-Holder.Teachers were last appointed and promoted for 2015 after the High Court had ruled that the TSC had used the wrong procedure in determining who had been eligible then. With the appointment of this new commission, promotions of both junior and senior teachers will begin.President Granger has said the TSC is tasked with ensuring there is a corps of qualified, trained, and highly motivated teachers in the local education system. He urged them to ensure fairness in their appointments.last_img

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *